• SoSally

Beneath The Tides: A Listen To The Calm Before The Storm By Freya Beer

Updated: Jul 7



Batten down the hatches as South Coast enchantress, Freya Beer, stirs up spiritual energy drunk in from energy-laden moonbeams to hypnotise with her next single, 'The Calm Before The Storm' following spoken Punk noir 'The Siren'. In the dead of the inky night is where Beer feels alive, harmonising with a dark aura, witching up poetry inspired words upon a gothic bed of horror rousing rumblings. She ponders,

“The song embodies the essence of my earlier single “Dear Sweet Rosie”, but it’s more like Rosie’s older, more mature sister… I wanted it to be a ceremonial ‘esque’ experience.”


Kindred to the fuzzy superiority of the Dandy Warhols, intentional feedback-ridden guitars and pummeling drum crashes are in sync with a tad of Bush and a sprinkling of Welsh, all untethered in this Rock Ballad. Freya purrs about the upheaval and tempestuous episode of one passion leaving another, "The storm in the sky keeps clashing together. The violence of love when it’s beaten to the bone."

Taken from EP Beast expected in the Autumn, it made its way into the world via London and Manchester through via her label Sisterhood Records. Freya plans to exhibit Beast with her UK tour in November, 2021. Shows include venues in London, Manchester, Bristol, Birmingham, and Glasgow, as well as a hometown show at Southampton’s 1865.


FREYA BEER - LIVE DATES


Wednesday 10th November - The Lanes, Bristol

Friday 12th November - The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham

Saturday 13th November - Jimmy’s, Liverpool

Tuesday 16th November - Paper Dress Vintage, London

Friday 19th November - The Lantern, Halifax

Saturday 20th November - Headrow House, Leeds

Sunday 21st November - Night & Day Cafe, Manchester

Tuesday 23rd November - Bobiks, Newcastle

Wednesday 24th November - Hug & Pint, Glasgow

Thursday 25th November - Sneaky Pete’s, Edinburgh

Saturday 27th November - Old School House, Barnsley

Thursday 2nd December - Music Hall, Ramsgate

Friday 3rd December - Hope & Ruin, Brighton

Sunday 5th December - The 1865, Southampton


Tickets on sale now at www.freyabeer.com

32 views0 comments