• SoSally

NEWS: CHUBBY AND THE GANG - Announce signing to Partisan Records - Hear new song 'Union Dues

Today, rising London punk five-piece Chubby and the Gang have announced their signing to Partisan Records (Fontaines DC, Laura Marling, Fela Kuti, IDLES) and shared a new song 'Union Dues', originally written/recorded alongside their acclaimed 2020 debut LP Speed Kills. In addition, the group has shared a new Looney Tunes-meets-West London video for Speed Kills highlight 'All Along the Uxbridge Road'. Eagle-eyed viewers will clock famed West London venue Bush Hall in the video and the band are thrilled today to announce a live show there for May 15th 2021.

Fronted by local electrician Charlie Manning, Chubby and the Gang have been leading a pack of bands coming out of a new wave of British Hardcore. Underneath an unrelentingly fun concoction of hardcore, pub rock, doo wop, and blues, Speed Kills boasts songs of deep substance and political conscience with a precise sense of time and place. Produced by Jonah Falco of Fucked Up, it has also proved to be one of this year’s surprise critical hits. It received an 8.0 Pitchfork review, Stereogum praised its “massive barroom gang choruses, power chords at breakneck tempos, rock spelled R-A-W-K and visceral gratification,” and Paste went as far as to call it the “the best punk-pop LP in recent memory”. 

Speed Kills has been digitally reissued and re-released via Partisan today, and will be physically re-released on November 20th. The album was remastered for vinyl at West London’s Metropolis Studios. The standard edition will be available on yellow vinyl and include a cartoon sticker sheet. There will also be a limited-edition version that includes a black-and-white colour-in sleeve with crayons.

Chubby and the Gang will return with a new album in 2021 - more details on that coming shortly.

Chubby and the Gang - Speed Kills reissue // Partisan Records - Out Now (digital) / 20/11/20 (physical) 

12 views0 comments